It’s About to Get Real

I’ve been trying to write for days so I apologize to my dozen of readers for the delay. The truth is the idea for this blog was born partially from my own desire (need) to bask in the happy. Lately I have been coming up short. You may have noticed from the rather whiney tone of the last two posts.

I do have something interesting to say though and it is about an old article I recently read called “Look Who’s Talking”. In it, Wired.com writer Howard Rheingold discusses the complicated relationship between the Amish and technology. More specifically, the piece focuses on Amish communities’ rules for acceptance of technology for communication. What I found most useful in their individual evaluation of each tool and nuance was their question, “Will it bring us together or pull us apart?” The piece was written in 1999 but that question is even more meaningful now because of the many sound-clip-esque and “disembodied” ways that we communicate. The Amish are concerned about telephones minimizing face-to-face interaction, but what about texting? What about Facebook? What about Twitter? Do these build community? Are these online communities real or imagined?

Farmville

An even more critical question posed by these cultural rebels is whether the use of technology changes us. I say it does. This blog says it can, for good, not just bad. So I continue to look for real encounters where micro-blogger turns journalist, as many did during the start of the Arab spring, and where art school weirdo becomes entrepreneur because of platforms like Kick Starter.

Sorry for the serious tone of this post. It’s been a serious week (life), and we can’t always cling to cat violence gifs for relief. Sometimes we gotta think deep.

Here’s a serious cat gif to go with the conversation. I couldn’t help myself.

ku-medium

Leave a Reply

