Not That Pintrested

pinterest-pinboard-600In trying to be well rounded I wanted to look at other ways that we communicate and create online and realized that there are a couple of significant social media apps that I haven’t mentioned yet. Among the most influential of these are Twitter (which doesn’t really need much debate, anticipated IPO notwithstanding) and Pintrest.

So, who uses Pintrest? According to my savvy 23 year-old admin mostly middle-aged women (a group that I vehemently refuse to ever be absorbed by). I’ve seen Pintrest around for a minute (that means a long time, like at least 2 years), but never really got into it. Finally I gave in to an invite by my bestie and created an account. Today was the third time in 6 months that I have been on it. Why doesn’t it capture my attention, because I refuse to be a middle-aged woman? Because I love the words, and short of a little word art and typography, text is not really Pintrest’s thing? Maybe. The more I think about it though, the more I believe it is my #shyness. I am afraid to pin outfits I like or décor that inspires me because I am one sarcastic (lady) and think that others would respond to my eclectic tastes with similar subtlety. So Pintrest is not for the insecure at heart.

Also, Pintrest is way organized. In fact it is more about organization than it is about interacting with other users and this is another wah wah wah area for me. I am a technology extrovert. If I am going to be sitting alone at home getting irradiated by a 15 inch screen then I want to at least believe that someone is on the other side. Therefore, being in constant need of validation is another factor. Hmmm, starting to think Pintrest is not the one with the problem here.
CBGC logo

From a marketing perspective Pintrest is brilliant and I can see it doing for a home décor niche (like CaribbeanGingerbread.com) what Tumblr did for Nutella. Did you catch that plug? I work for those guys (Caribbean Gingerbread, not Nutella) and helped develop the site, wrote most of the copy, … please validate me. There I go again.

Breakthrough moment – Pintrest is awesome for creating a Christmas list!

One thought on “Not That Pintrested

Leave a Reply

