Bitstrips and Zombies and Babes, Oh My!

Image

I have wanted to post for a couple of days now but have held back due to my annoyance with Bitstrip, which I originally wanted to write about in a positive way. It is too late for that though, as it is quickly becoming Facebook’s second most obnoxious feature (#1 is still invitations to play Candy Crush). What is with the obsession folks? A few weeks ago, when like one guy was using Bitstrip and no one even knew it was an app, it was cool. It was cool when a girl made her avatar actually look like herself– forehead lines, kinda round face, blocky suit. But now, everybody has got Bitstrip, every personalized female avatar is wearing the same kaki shorts and pink scarf, nobody is old, overweight, or has frizzy hair, and everybody is “on the five alarm wake up.” This insipid lack of creativity and honesty is just bringing out the worst in me. Yes, that was redundantly repetitive but essentially necessary. Sorry for the complaininess.

Now that I have got that out of my system, let’s get back to talking about zombies and Jimmy Kimmel. It is Halloween after all.

I came across an amazing TED Talk for zombies and, since it basically combines my entire Netflix queue in 3 ½ minutes, I feel compelled to let you in on it. TED Talks is one of my favorite things to do so I don’t feel guilty about watching TV. Their basic theme, “ideas worth sharing,” is like what this blog is about- participating in the exchange of information, creativity, and emotion across digital platforms. So zombies… yeah well, I happen to think that it is high time we hear what they have to say. Apparently this video is not actually a TED Talk but it very well could and should be.

Finally, as a mom I wanted to give other parents a way to know if their parenting sucks. Here is a test invented by the psychology experts at the Jimmy Kendall show. Watch the video below and then do to your children what these parents did to theirs; tell them you ate the candy they got trick or treating. If they are like my kids, or like me to be honest, they will cry as if their baby bunny died and you are telling them to flush it. The kids toward the end of the video though shame those of us whose parenting techniques include frequent practical jokes and my favorite, stop, drop, and cry. The last girl has got to be the most well adjusted small person I have seen since that daily affirmations girl. Wow!

Happy haunting!

Leave a Reply

